First Post

Hi Everyone – just in case any of you followed me from my old Jollyblogger blog on Typepad over here I just wanted to say hello and let you know I’m using this as a placeholder for future blogging.  I am not sure if I will blog much here.  I’m sure I’ll never try to recapture what I was doing back in the day on my Typepad blog, but I may do a few things.

If you never followed me over there I used to blog on topics related to Christianity – bible, theology, Christian growth and church life.

I was diagnosed with Stage IV colon cancer in December of 2008 and have used the blog to give health updates and write about topics of interest to cancer sufferers.

I may write about some of these things here in the future.  With my being sick I can’t plan on any regular blogging but I do like to have the option available in case inspiration strikes me or in case I need to put up a quick health update.  In the past I have been greatly encouraged as people have encouraged me and my family, and offered much prayer for us.  So, I do hope to be able to post health updates, if nothing else.

If you have followed me here from the old blog I’d love to have you leave a quick comment to let me know you are here.  Thanks

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to First Post

  1. Bill Kinnon says:

    I have this RSS feed in Google Reader now, David. Write when you feel the inspiration. I do miss your posts.

  2. Jacob says:

    David, I’ve never been much of a commenter, but have been a long time reader of your blog. I’ll continue to be prayer for you, brother, and will look forward to reading when inspiration arises for you.

  3. jollyblogger says:

    Bill and Jacob – many many thanks for stopping by. I appreciate the encouragement.

  4. Richard says:

    I’m following you on here now.

    Blessings on you, brother!

    R.

  5. Mike says:

    I have this RSS feed in Google Reader now.

  6. Adding the new place to my feed reader.

    There should be a way to export the database from your Typepad account and import it here. It would be worth considering, so the web doesn’t lose nearly seven years of thought-provoking and inspiring writing.

  7. Robert says:

    I’m here. Of course I’m interested in anything you have to say, whenever you choose to say it. Peace be with you, friend.

  8. Allison says:

    Hi, Dave!
    If you write it, I will read it. Much love to you and your family. I hope 2011 is a year of blessing for you guys.
    Allison

  9. Cindy Marsch says:

    David, I have you in my Google Reader, too, and I look forward to whatever you might write in the future. In any case your posts will prompt me to pray for your health! 🙂

  10. David – have changed Google Reader to point here. Still praying for you daily, and looking forward to hearing what God is doing in your life.

  11. Beth says:

    Keep going!!

  12. stalked the old blog…will continue to stalk here…and pray for your health

  13. Duane says:

    Always followed the old one and will continue to check this one and Facebook.
    I still miss hearing your wife’s voice in my ear in choir! Pray for you and your family– and miss you.

  14. chrisinnm says:

    Also a silent reader, David, and a cancer survivor. Keeping you and your family in prayer, and hoping to figure out how to add you to my google reader…

  15. Greg says:

    Hi David,

    I have never commented but I did check your blog everyday for a new post. You have been an encouragement to many that you may never know about. I pray for you
    and your family — and please keep writing (if you feel like it)–the arrow finds it’s target! Divine guidance, I suppose.

  16. cavman says:

    Welcome (back) to the WordPress Family. Yes, blogging is not the end-all and be-all. I do hope you keep us reasonably up to date on how you’re doing.

  17. Rong says:

    David, I’m with everyone else. Any time you’re ready to post I’m ready to read. Glad that you are physically feeling OK right now and praying that continues long into the future.

    Peace,
    Rong

  18. Bonnie says:

    I am here. Always glad to read whatever you write, on whatever topic, including health updates.

    I hope you won’t regret your past blogging efforts too much. None of us are perfect, and there was much of value in your writing. I always appreciated your insight, wit, and theological thought-provocation!

    Prayers being said for you and your family.

  19. Les Arthur says:

    David, Mary and I continue to keep you and your family in our prayers.

  20. jollyblogger says:

    Wow – thank you everyone – I do appreciate the encouragement. I am sure you can imagine I have my share of “down” days so I really appreciate all of the kind words.

  21. Kat says:

    Write when you can. I’ve appreciated your posts over the years.

  22. KB says:

    I’ve been quietly reading your blog via RSS since early 2005. At the time I was curious about what these blogs were I had heard about, so I googled ‘blog’ and ‘C. S. Lewis’ (since I love his writings) to try and find a blog on a topic that would interest me. Google sent me to you, and I have been blessed by your writings ever since. My mother doesn’t read blogs, but periodically she asks about your latest health update. Know that we continue to pray for you.

  23. Steve says:

    David,
    You’re blog was one of the more encouraging and stimulating blogs I bookmarked, even with the subject changing course as you were battling the cancer. I routinely checked in to see what was on your mind. I’ll continue to do so here. No pressure though. 😉

  24. Rey Reynoso says:

    So, dude, you can’t export all of that content over yon and bring it hither?

  25. Joe says:

    Made the jump. Will follow you with my prayers.

  26. Ellen Jervis says:

    Pastor Wayne I fully respect your decision but I am also sad to hear of it. I came to discover blogs and the many writers who use the opportunity to share a wisdom, either theirs or in the best of cases God working through them to others. Such is the case with you. Yours was the first blog I followed. I even have quotes from you on my facebook page. When people, friends and family, look up my profile they will see a quote from you. I shall miss your insights and wisdom as you put them to words for us. I hope you continue to share them on this site and with greater frequency. Perhaps a book will be inspired in you from you recent journey. By the way. I lost my husband to Leukemia in 2001. Praying for you was in many way restorative for me. I hope that doesn’t sound selfish. I simply felt I finally can use my journey and my experience to really understand how to pray for someone else walking the same road as my late husband and especially for their family members and what they go through as well. Nothing excites and pleases me more to hear you are stable now and even sound better and more perhaps a bit more positive. This has been, in part, my prayer for you. Finding a peace and joy in the worst of times is I believe how we witness about God’s great love for us during such times. He doesn’t always heal the body, but he gives us a profound peace I believe that provides a witness that sometimes miraculous healings never do. Still I do pray for profound and complete physical healing for you as well. I most ardently pray that for you, you will never now how hard that I do. Thank Pastor for helping me and I feel you will continue to write again. You have so much to tell us. And if the Lord leads you in another direction well then that is what he will do. I hope I hear about it. – Yours in Christ, Ellen Jervis

  27. I’ll be checking in on you from time to time and praying for you and your family. Peace.

  28. Lisa Viaros Hoffman says:

    Just stopped by to say hello and Happy New Year – may 2011 be a good and prosperous year for you and your family!

    • Teresita (Chi) Cook says:

      Hi Lisa Viaros Hoffman. I’ve been trying to locate you since u left a message on Classmates from Miami High. Please write so we can catch up. Hope u see this message. Terry

      • Lisa says:

        Hi Terry,

        Just saw your note and just sent you a message to your email address….talk to you soon!

        Lisa

  29. Check! May the Lord richly bless you this year!

  30. I’ve found a lot of inspiration in the other site and hope you occasionally share it here as well. I’ll check in regularly.

  31. Diana says:

    Thank you, Pastor.

  32. Dan Edelen says:

    All present and accounted for, sir!

  33. Barbara Smith says:

    Will look forward to updates. :0)

  34. Adrian Warnock says:

    We miss you man. I have NEVER thought that you were a self-promoter. Either you just hid it really, really, well, or you are doing too much introspection, brother! I have to say that personally I have profited massively from interacting with you over the years and from your writing. Love you man.

  35. Just updated my RSS feed. Wishing to much health in the new year.

  36. I found JollyBlogger many moons ago; later discovered my pastor knew you personally, so even more of a connection! I’ve read your ‘goodbye’ posts and arrived here from there. Prayers always.

    Re: Cancer… I read David’s post and sympathize with it. I wrote and delivered a speech to Toastmaster club on that theme. Yes, I do think govt could and would waste money on a futile war on Cancer that could be cured much more simply. Look at how they’ve done on Education!

    But, if you won’t listen to ‘crackpot cures,’ then simply consider that if your oncologist learned the skill after 1950, the instructors cared little for God and don’t believe in His creation. This guarantees that cures will be sought totally from the ability of man. If there is a natural cure, say from concentrating one’s diet on mustard-family green vegetables cooked lightly if at all, this sort of ‘cure’ would be dismissed by the oncologist-thus-trained for its lack of humanistic sophistication.

    I’m involved in prison ministry and attend several prayer meetings every week. There is a growing abundance of Christians suffering with cancer. I have a number of friends doing so currently. They ask for prayer. They seek sophisticated cures. They are elated when chemo results in shrunken tumors, and they are depressed when a couple weeks or months later, the tumors return with vigor. They resist my reasoning; I don’t know how to pray!

    A few months ago I had a severe pain in my right thigh. The pain persisted and resisted the efforts of naturopaths, medical doctors, and chiropractors. About 3 months into the situation, my wife prayed, “Oh Lord, help George find someone who is able to cure this problem!” Within 2 weeks of that prayer, and a set of interesting circumstances, I was pain free, under the ministering of a different sort of chiropractor. [Condition name: paresthetica meralgia]

    For all of my Christian family that is suffering with cancer, I pray that you will find someone who is able to cure, and that you won’t overlook the simplicity of God’s creation and the rules for dietary health given in His Word.

  37. Susan says:

    Don’t know how I found you four or five years ago – yours was the only blog I followed. I hear you as far as the self-promoting goes. There’s an aspect of that that has to be seen for what it is. At the same time I’m not even a ‘pencil in the hand of God’ if I wait till I’m rid of self in order to be used. I don’t know what defects you had as a pencil but the writer was still able to use you for his purposes. The fact that you’re wrestling with it says much about why I read your blog. I’ve appreciated your wrestling in front of us and the knowledge and wisdom you’ve been given as a pastor that you’ve shared.

  38. Jimmy D. says:

    David, found you here via Milton’s Transforming Sermons Blog. I’ll put you in my reader and wait to hear. Peace.

  39. Byron says:

    Funny, David, I’ve been blogging since 2003ish, and a follower of your blog for nearly that long (and an occasional commenter), and I came to much the same conclusion as you about 4 months ago: time to move on to another chapter in my life (my final post was on my 50th birthday). That said, I join the others in thanking you for your good work through the years that has been a blessing to me, and you have been a frequent topic of my prayers (albeit since my move out of the blogosphere mainstream, I’ve thought about blogging—and yes, bloggers—less than I once did. Lord, forgive me.). I do continue to pray that God grants you healing, and thank you again, my cyber-friend!

  40. I have updated my RSS feed in Google Reader. Write when you feel like it. I have enjoyed your posts.

  41. Judy Parsons says:

    David,

    I am sorry you think your blogging is self-serving, for I have been greatly inspired by it and passed it onto many others. I hope you continue to share and inspire us as you are led.

  42. Lyn Perez says:

    Yep. Still here David. Think about you alot. Prayers still going up for you. Let’s talk soon.

  43. Dave says:

    I’ll still get my updates here, but don’t forget where I am…what, maybe
    a Tim Tebow screen pass from your back door? Talk when you have the
    time my friend (and neighbor!)

  44. David, I’m hoping that you’ll be able to continue fighting the good fight and blogging the good blog. Whatever happens, I pray that your confidence in our Lord would never waver. I’m updating my entire blogroll and am keeping Jollyblogger in the list, whether or not you post again.

    Peace.

  45. GL says:

    David, good to see you leaving the door open for your uncommon wisdom to appear. Not sure when I’ll be in DC/BWI in the near future, but I hope sooner rather than later. So, so much to catch up on. Hung out with Pratt for a couple hours in Orlando this past week and the time was as informative, stimulating and encouraging as you would expect. Jolly One, I miss you.

  46. David,

    I have been following your musing for several years now. Considering the ordeal that you and your family have undergone, I can credit that you have done your share for us in the public. If you choose not to write again, I will say well done good servant. You have taught and amused us a lot. Maybe now is the time for a different turn in the road.

    I think we should be good with that. Get well. Stay well. Blessing forever to you and your family.

    Darryl Darwent
    Calgary, Alberta
    Canada

  47. Bobby Grow says:

    Still here, David; still praying everyday for you, brother! Glad that you are doing better these days, praise the Lord!

  48. Richard says:

    David,

    Still here and praying for you! God bless as He leads and walks you through this.

  49. theoldadam says:

    David,

    I’m new here (you don’t know me), but I’ll be praying for you.

    Whatever happens, you have a great future ahead. May the Lord bless you and keep you in the promise of your Baptism.

  50. Hi David! Still reading and still stopping by to check in on you and Lynette. Sending you both love and prayers.

  51. Lisa Viaros Hoffman says:

    Hi David, just checking in on you – hope that you have a calm and uneventful summer.

    Blessings and peace, Lisa

  52. Lisa Viaros Hoffman says:

    Please say hello to Lynette for us too.

Leave a Reply

